Bamburgh Castle.
The view from "The Wyndings". Fish and chips and glorious weather. Just the tonic needed.
A bit of history....
Once home to the kings of ancient Northumbria, Bamburgh Castle is one of Northumberland's most iconic buildings.
The Bamburgh castle we see today is a relatively recent structure, built by famed industrialist the first Lord Armstrong at vast cost in late Victorian times. But the castle boasts a much longer history. There have been settlements on the site since prehistoric times and the regular archaeological digs that take place on the site have unearthed some spectacular finds.
Excavations were started in the 1960s by Dr Brian Hope-Taylor, who discovered the gold plaque known as the Bamburgh Beast as well as the Bamburgh Sword.
During its more recent history, Bamburgh Castle feted royal guests and English kings, one of whom - Edward IV - destroyed it in the Wars of the Roses.
Home to the Kings of Northumbria this magnificent coastal castle was completely restored in 1900. Collections of china, porcelain, furniture, paintings, arms and armour. It is the home of the Armstrong family, and the building is all in use which maintains a welcoming lived-in atmosphere. A Royal Centre by AD547, the rocky outcrop has been occupied since the prehistoric period. The present fortress is the result of restoration and expansion over the centuries, a building of historic and general interest with the public tour passing through the museum room, grand kings hall, cross hall, armoury and the Victorian scullery.
Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.